President Obama appoints final members to USA's World War I Centennial Commission

Posted on on 12 August 2013
Share |

President Barack Obama has appointed the final three members to the US World War I Centennial Commission, completing the twelve person body.

They include former Congressman Ike Skelton of Missouri; retired U.S. Army Major General Alfred A. Valenzuela of Texas; and Libby O'Connell, PhD., Chief Historian and Senior Vice President for Corporate Outreach at Arkansas Educational Television Network.

The Commission was established on 16th January 2013 and is responsible for "planning, developing, and executing programs, projects, and activities to commemorate the centennial of World War I".

The Commissioners

Dr. Mary Davidson Cohen  - Chair of the Museum Board of the Liberty Memorial Association

Colonel Robert J. Dalessandro - Director/Chief of Military History, U.S. Army Centre of Military History

Edwin L. Fountain - Co-Founder World War I Memorial Foundation

Richard Kolb - Director of Publications for Veterans of Foreign Wars magazine

Colonel Thomas Moe - United States Air Force

James B. Nutter Senior - Army Veteran; Businessman

Dr. Libby O'Connell - Chief Historian, Senior Vice President, Corporate Outreach, Arkansas Educational Television Network

Ted Poe - Republican Congressman for Texas

Ike Skelton - Former Congressman

Major General Alfred A. Valenzuela - U.S. Army

James S. Whitfield - American Legion

Source: World War I Centennial Commission website

Images courtesy of the World War I Centennial Commission website

Posted by: Daniel Barry, Centenary News